Icon Search Base

Our Board of Directors

Our Board consists of volunteers with targeted professional skills and experience who oversee the governance structures of mecwacare. The Board works with the Chief Executive to ensure responsibility for mecwacare’s financial performance, strategic priorities, and quality of care and services.

Ian McHutchison OAM Chairman

BJuris, LLB

Mr McHutchison is Chairman of the mecwacare Board and a member of the Chief Executive Review Committee and Finance and Audit Committee. He is Chair of Unison Housing Limited and the Eva Tilley Memorial Home and is a Director of The Barnett Foundation.  Appointed 2013.

John Atchison Vice Chairman

BE (Civil), MIE (Aust)

Mr Atchison is a member of the Chief Executive Review Committee. He is a company director of a building and engineering consultancy and a member of the Register of Engineers for Disaster Relief. Appointed 1990.

Colin Squires Treasurer

BE (Hons), MBA

Mr Squires is the Chairman of the Finance and Audit Committee and a member of the Chief Executive Committee. He began his career as a civil engineer and, after gaining his MBA in England, returned to Australia to pursue a career in the corporate finance sector. Mr Squires worked at Macquarie Bank, Citi National and UBS, where he was a director. Since retiring, Mr Squires has been a director of several companies, including Chairman of Oliver J. Nilsen. He has also been significantly involved in the governance of Lauriston Girls' School in Armadale. Appointed 2008.

Susan Barton AM

Ms Barton is a member of the Clinical and Service Governance Committee. She is the founder and director of the Lighthouse Foundation and was inducted into the Victorian Honour Roll for Women in 2012. Ms Barton has more than 30 years' experience in the not-for-profit sector. She is co-author of Build Your Teenager’s Self-Esteem and Therapeutic Residential Care for Children and Young People. Appointed 2005.

Susan Calwell

Ms Calwell is a member of the Clinical and Service Governance Committee. She is a published author, company director and Australia Day Ambassador. Appointed 2000.

Anne Court AM


Mrs Court is a member of the Clinical and Service Governance Committee and former Chair of East African Coffee Plantations Limited, former Director of Blueline Industries and former President of Women’s Golf Victoria. Mrs Court studied at the Melbourne University Conservatorium where she attained a Diploma in Music and shows a strong interest and support in the fundraising activities of mecwacare. Appointed 2007.

Rachel Au

Ms Au is a member of the Finance and Audit Committee and has over 15 years of experience in business strategy, transformation and improvement roles, including a current position with Telstra and previous roles with Australia Post and National Australia Bank. Ms Au brings a wealth of commercial knowledge and expertise to the governance of mecwacare. Appointed 2017.

Lachlan Cameron

Mr Cameron is a member of the Clinical and Services Governance Committee. He brings a wealth of experience in business and business transformation having spent the past 35 years working in the property management, property development and investment management sector across Australia, the USA, Asia and Europe. He is familiar with the Home Services Sector having co-owned a business that serviced the East Coast of Australia. He is also an expert on maximising human potential and happiness. Appointed 2022.

Dr Linden Smibert

Dr Linden Smibert is a general practitioner with many years of clinical, strategic and governance experience. She owned and operated her own medical practice for many years and simultaneously chaired a number of boards including General Practice Victoria, Networking Health Victoria and Inner East Medicare Local. She was a director of Vincentcare Victoria, which at the time operated numerous aged care homes throughout Victoria. She is currently a Director of the Royal Children’s Hospital.

Our Life Governors

Life governorship is awarded to people who have made an extraordinary contribution to mecwacare.

Our Life Governors are:

  • Robin Syme AM


  • Barry Fenton


  • John Hood